Chronicles of Narnia

Elijah and I have been exploring the land of Narnia for a few weeks now. For Elijah, this has been his first time to enter into the magical land in the Wardrobe and for me… I have lost count.

Narnia has kept us both enthralled with the depth of fun and adventure as well as profoundly deep life changing meaning. Elyse has heard Elijah discussing many quotes and concepts from the books and me again expressing what a genius C.S. Lewis was with these books (sometimes after I “preview” the next chapter after telling Elijah we will have to wait until tomorrow for more… even though I have already read these books many times)

There are many reasons that The Chronicles of Narnia continue to be my most recommended read after the Bible for both kids and adults, however my reasons may not be yours. With so much depth, these books may reach and speak to you in ways that I had never even thought of. Two things I will mention are that they are not only life changing, they are also a very easy read. (I read three of the seven books in one night when I was younger and supposed to be sleeping.)

One other thought, if when you do read them, do yourself a favor and start at the “proper” beginning, “The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe”. They reordered them a few years ago into chronological order so most sets now have that order. The original order was:

1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
2. Prince Caspian
3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
4. The Silver Chair
5. The Horse and His Boy
6. The Magicians Nephew
7. The Last Battle

%d bloggers like this: